Looks more like August

This big basket of veggies awaited us upon our return from a camping trip this weekend.  The basket looks more like August than mid-September.

We returned home to find we escaped the frost, but the blight is upon us.  Many of the tomatoes crashed and burned, hardest hit were the incredibly prolific Juliet tomatoes, but the Cherokee Purple, Yellow Currant and Moskvitch are also approaching dead.  Still hanging in are the Striped Roman, Amish Paste, and Sungold Cherry.  The delicious Pineapple tomato plant, slightly sequestered in the hoophouse, thus far appears to have escaped, but with rain and cool temps today, I’m sure the clock is ticking. Ah, well, at least the squash are still producing like mad.  Zucchini, anyone?

12 Responses to “Looks more like August”

  1. Laurie Graves Says:

    Too bad you didn’t live closer ;) I’d love some zucchini. My favorite way of eating it is to dip zucchini rounds in some beaten egg, then in bread crumbs seasoned with salt and pepper. Fry them in 1/4 inch of olive oil. When they are golden and crisp, remove from pan and top with some kind of tomato sauce. Oh, so good!

  2. O. Says:

    I’d take a zuke or two!

  3. Karen Says:

    You have been so lucky escaping the frost. Sorry about the blight. You really have a nice harvest for this time of the year.

  4. Rick Says:

    Great harvest! We don’t usually have much of a problem with tomato blight in our area. Our biggest worry is always frost, so far we’ve been ok, with at least another week ahead of us frost free!!

    • Ali Says:

      Rick, I don’t think my tomatoes ever got Late Blight before 2009, when it was imported early to Maine on southern-grown seedlings. I know it existed, but I’d never had a problem. This is the second year I’ve seen it. At least this year it lived up to its name, Late. I hope you never experience it!

  5. Laurie Graves Says:

    Yes, indeed, Ali! It would be grand to meet you.

  6. Lisa and Robb Says:

    Your squash are beautiful! You’ve got pattypan (I think) but what else did you grow?

    • Ali Says:

      L&R,

      I grew Flying Saucers pattypan type squash, which is excellent, and Costata Romaesca zucchini, which is a MONSTER, but is so delicious that I grow it anyway. I also grew some Honeybear winter squash, but have yet to post about them.

Comments are closed.


