A rainy weekend

Friday was surprisingly nice.  The forecast had originally called for overcast skies, but instead, the sun was peeking through by mid-day.  I’ve been struggling with some low back pain, ugh, but late in the day I ventured into the garden and found a few more treasures.  A lone snail-scarred but still edible cucumber, a lovely red bull’s horn type pepper, and several gorgeous Pineapple tomatoes from the last living tomato plant.  There are a few more green tomatoes on the plant, but as they haven’t begin to color up yet I’m thinking these will be it for the year.  Ah well.

The sun disappeared by evening however, and we had a couple of thundershowers overnight and awoke Saturday to the beginning of a soaking wet weekend.  So much for digging potatoes.  I’m hoping the potatoes didn’t get the blight as the tops had died back before the tomatoes were hit, but as I haven’t had a chance to dig them yet I just don’t know what to expect.

Instead of gardening, I made another pie, this time a peach blueberry pie using peaches and blueberries I froze this summer.  We were lucky enough to be invited to friends’ for dinner so I offered to bring dessert.  We had a lovely time enjoying a nice curry and some cards.

The garden is a mess, but there’s still some good eating to be had, with kale awaiting the frost, some more broccoli heading up, peppers ripening in the hoophouse and acorn squash to harvest.  I hope we get some dry weather so I can spend a day starting fall clean up soon.  Instead today will be a good day to read my my new book from Henry Homeyer, noodle around the interwebs, and organize and pack away the camping gear for the season.  Fall is here whether I’m ready or not.

2 Responses to “A rainy weekend”

  1. Robin Says:

    The rain has just been horrible this week! It is supposed to clear here by Wednesday. Hopefully your potatoes will be fine.

    That pie definitely looks good!

  2. Laurie Graves Says:

    Ditto about the potatoes! Too bad we couldn’t send some of this rain to Texas. Hope your back feels better soon. Beautiful pie! I, too, made a pie this weekend with heirloom apples from a tree that belongs to a fellow member of the town’s green committee. Best apple pie I ever made. Unfortunately, I don’t know what variety the apples are.

Comments are closed.


