Harvest Monday: A little of this, a little of that

With a frost this week, the garden is winding down.  The tomatoes were long dead from late blight, but the frost hit the squashes and basil and put an end to them.  There are still carrots, leeks, beets, broccoli and kale in the main garden, and peppers, lettuce and more brassicas in the hoophouse.  I harvested most of the peppers, (I have a few peppers still on to ripen up) and will pull those plants as soon as I get to it, and plant spinach.

Still, we had good eating from the garden this week, enjoying broccoli, leeks, chard, peppers, squash, cabbage and the last cuke (picked last week), in all, 6.5 lbs. not including the Honey Bear squash nor the bulk of the peppers which I haven yet to weigh.

I also did not include the ENORMOUS zucchini which was revealed when the plants’ leaves died in the frost.  This giant will be enjoyed by the hens, who have also been enjoying the spent broccoli plants, frost burned chard leaves, etc. that comes their way.  I can’t believe I missed that bod boy.  We’ve been enjoying the last of the zucchini sauteed cooked in a brown butter sage sauce, mmmmm.  I have one more squash in the fridge and then it’s over for the year.

Unfortunately, I had a computer glitch and somehow lost some data in my spreadsheet.  My total now reflects a mere 328.78 for the season, so until I figure this out I’m going to skip the cost/benefit details, and just go with the weeks harvest of 6.5 lbs.

This post is part of Daphne’s Harvest Monday series on her blog Daphne’s Dandelions, where gardeners from around the world gather to report on their harvest feasting.  Daphne writes a very informative blog and this year had an amazingly productive urban garden.  Check it out and be amazed, as I am, at what an urban garden can produce.

3 Responses to “Harvest Monday: A little of this, a little of that”

  1. kitsapfg Says:

    Some of the best eating comes from the dribs and drabs of items that come from the early and late season garden. Sorry you had a computer glitch eat your data. I think all of us have had the “monster zucchini that hid” episode in our garden lives!

  2. Robin Says:

    That’s a good harvest for this time of the year and a nice variety! I can believe that you missed that zucchini…..I think that we all have!

  3. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    Nice broccoli. All I’ve got are some puny side shoots.

Comments are closed.


