Early snow predicted

Although this is only the third night this fall where temps have been low enough for a frost, the National Weather Service has posted a winter storm watch for Saturday night.   And I’ve been hoping I could get my garlic and shallots planted this weekend!

URGENT - WINTER WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE GRAY ME
345 AM EDT FRI OCT 28 2011

...EARLY-SEASON WINTER STORM POSSIBLE SATURDAY NIGHT INTO SUNDAY
MORNING...

.LOW PRESSURE IS EXPECTED TO RAPIDLY INTENSIFY ALONG THE MID
ATLANTIC COAST ON SATURDAY AND MOVE VERY CLOSE TO CAPE COD
SATURDAY NIGHT...THEN NORTHEAST TO THE CANADIAN MARITIMES SUNDAY.
AT THIS TIME...THIS STORM LOOKS TO BRING ACCUMULATING SNOW TO MUCH
OF MAINE AND NEW HAMPSHIRE...WITH THE BULK OF THE SNOW FALLING
SATURDAY NIGHT.

THIS IS AN IMPACT-DRIVEN WATCH GIVEN THAT THIS IS
THE FIRST STORM OF THE SEASON...AND A VERY EARLY ONE AT THAT. WHILE
IT/S POSSIBLE THAT THE WATCH AREA SEES 6 OR MORE INCHES OF
SNOW...THE MOST LIKELY SCENARIO IS FOR 3 TO 6 INCHES WITH LOCALLY
HIGHER AMOUNTS. EVEN JUST 2 TO 4 INCHES OF HEAVY WET SNOW WILL
LEAD TO DOWNED BRANCHES OR TREES SINCE IT IS STILL OCTOBER. THIS
WOULD RESULT IN NUMEROUS POWER OUTAGES.
7 Responses to “Early snow predicted”

  1. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I too am planning to plant garlic this weekend. Hopefully, any snow will melt away and the sun will give enough warmth to allow planting without gloves.

  2. Emily Says:

    We got about an inch of heavy wet snow. My garlic’s already in the ground thankfully. It looks like it should melt today.

  3. Kate@LivingTheFrugalLife Says:

    I only got my garlic planted on Tuesday, planning to take advantage of yesterday’s rain. And the last of the potatoes harvested on Wednesday, just ahead of yesterday’s rain. We had our first frost last night, a very light one. Astonishing that it has come so late this year. I hear the old-time folk forecasters are calling for unusual amounts of snow here in November. I’m on the fence about their accuracy. Still, I guess we’d better get our hoop house finished…

  4. eagergridlessbeaver Says:

    ..why do you have to post such a downer post on a Friday..friday is about festivus not snow! hehe..if I see a kid in a Jack Frost costume this halloween I am not going to give him any treats!

  5. Jean Says:

    Ali, I am in Gettysburg PA (on the Mason-Dixon line!) for the school year, and they’re forecasting 4-8″ of snow for us out of this storm. What?!? I have to try to leave work early enough today to get the patio furniture taken in before dark.
    When I was in Maine a few weeks ago, I didn’t quite finish all my fall chores; so I made reservations to fly up and finish them next weekend. “It won’t matter,” I told myself, “it never snows until later in November.” Oops!

  6. Grace Says:

    I am so danged jealous of your winter weather advisories. We are going to get a (barely) chilly rain. Ick!

    Let it snow!

  7. nimecouctic Says:

    Hi!
    Re-twit you post: to my @oyenfvei twitter

Comments are closed.


