Final cut: broccoli and cauliflower

With temps dipping into the low 20s I decided it was time to harvest the last broccoli and cauliflower of the season.  The cauliflower seemed to have some frost damage but the broccoli was unscathed –from the frost, at least.  I do have some in the freezer, but I will miss the broccoli, which has been excellent this year.

If you look closely, you can see the broccoli amidst the kale, which looks a bit bedraggled after the snow.  About all that remains in the main garden is the kale a bit of Swiss chard, and some Brussels sprouts.

I have some Asian greens and lettuce in the hoophouse.  The snails and cabbage worms have done a lot of damage to the brassica family, but the lettuce is delicious, and unfortunately, disappearing all too quickly.

2 Responses to “Final cut: broccoli and cauliflower”

  1. Robin Says:

    I had the worst year ever for broccoli and cauliflower. Yours looks wonderful! I hope that next year will be much better.

    It sounds like you are enjoying your lettuce!

  2. Rick Says:

    Every thing looks great. It’s always a little sad to come to the end of another season. Looks like your hoop house is doing well, I hope to have one like yours some day!

    Snails are my arch enemy!! This year we lost all of our cabbage and most of our broccoli to snails and slugs!! AUGHHHHH!!!

Comments are closed.


