The value of gardening

I have had the pleasure of talking with garden writer Henry Homeyer several times over the past few months,  Henry is a gardener and writer from Cornish Flats New Hampshire, and his column appears in my local newspaper.  Henry was intrigued by the record keeping I’ve been doing for Harvest Mondays, and we talked for quite a while about the project (and being gardeners, shared a few tips).

Our discussion focused on the economic value of vegetable gardening, which, as I’ve documented over the past 2 years, does pay for itself even when you do have a seed habit as bad as mine.  Being a thrifty Scottish lass I am happy my habit pays for itself, but really, for me, the value of gardening is far greater than mere dollars can measure.

Gardening has taught me much.   I was never all that observant as a child, preferring to spend my days head planted in a book, but I did love to grow things, and gardening taught me to observe.  Observing is not second nature to me, for whatever reason, I tend to live in my head, reading and thinking way too much.  Paying attention to the natural world is not second nature, but as I have grown as a gardener, my enjoyment of gardening has grown and changed from relishing the product to savoring the early mornings in my garden.  I prowl the plot, observing the new tomato blossoms, the first sign of the broccoli heading up, the native pollinators at work, the curlicued trails of the slugs and snails of the hoophouse walls.   It is intensely satisfying.

