Happy Groundhog Day!

Groundhog Day is my favorite holiday, marking Imbolc, the halfway point between Solstice and Equinox.  By Saturday, Maine will see 10 hours of sunlight, increasing daily ’till June.

Normally, I’m not a fan of the garden-devouring little rodents, but on Groundhog Day, I set my animosity aside and make a temporary peace, despite Phil’s  many   past crimes.

Or maybe not.  Now that I think about it, I don’t think I can forgive him for eating to the ground the flowers I so carefully planted and tended for my wedding the year we came to Henbogle.  The ravenous, evil little rodent.

Nonetheless, spring is in sight.  Bring it on!

6 Responses to “Happy Groundhog Day!”

  1. Laurie Graves Says:

    I love this post! I have indeed noticed how much light we have gained since December. I can take the dog out for a walk at 4:00 P.M. now and be back before it gets dark. The happy day will soon come when my husband and I can go bike riding when he comes home from work.

  2. Sharon Says:

    What’s going on in this picture?! Is Phil getting chomped on from behind by a coyote? Or is he falling off the face of the earth? Maybe you’re finally getting your revenge for the wedding flowers he ate?

    Anyway, love the post!

  3. karen Says:

    hey Ali! Drop me a line. My email keeps getting sent back to me so I don’t know what I have wrong. I miss you guys, wicked. Believe it or not I too am enjoying the longer days. Though it was lighter later here it still was a much shorter day than it is now. I know………blah blah blah!!! KB

  4. kitsapfg Says:

    I love the definite change of seasons that Imbolc brings. The rodents are an amusing distraction to the real celebration of clawing our way out of the very darkest days of winter.

  5. Robin Says:

    How cute. I’ve never seen a ground hog in person! I didn’t know you had your own personal one either. lol. I probably wouldn’t think he was so cute if he was living in my garden though.

Comments are closed.


