Mud season approaches

Our mild winter continues here at Henbogle.  Mud season is not quite here yet, but I can see it on the horizon.  I have a sledding party planned at work for our mentors and their kids so I’d love about 6 inches of snow for that event, then I’m happy to see mud season arrive.

We’ve really only had 2 snowstorms to date, and there is not much snow cover left. With the lengthening days and mild temperatures, the lawn is showing some green, and the Creeping Charlie in the garden is beginning to advance toward the hoophouse.

The mild temps have been kind to the spinach in the hoophouse, and today I harvest 4.9 oz.  to use for pizza tonight.  I wish I’d planted more, but who knew how mild the winter would be?  This week is February vacation, so I’ll be get to do some gardening.  I plan on sowing some more spinach and some other cold-hardly greens in the hoophouse in hopes of continued mild weather.  Here are a few more glimpses of early spring at Henbogle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Mud season approaches”

  1. Daphne Says:

    I was out hiking today and mud season is here farther south. But then we never really had snow so I don’t think it will last long.

  2. Sharon Says:

    Thanks for the view of your hoop house (and the chickens!). You’ve inspired me to get out and plant some spinach in my new cold frame!

  3. Emily Says:

    It looks like mud season here in NH. We haven’t really had a snow cover this year either. I should check on the greens in the cold frame and see if I can harvest some.

  4. Laurie Graves Says:

    Good luck with that sledding party! A bit of snow is forecasted for the middle of the week.

  5. Robin Says:

    I’ve managed to spread some composted chicken manure on our garden and some pig poo mixture around the fruit trees. Otherwise, it’s been zilch on the garden front here. I was cleaning out my gardening cabinet today getting the spring gardening fever. :) That has to be awesome getting stuff still from your garden!

Comments are closed.


