Winter gardening

Taking advantage of a few vacation days and some sunshine, today I did a bit of winter gardening in the hoophouse.  Outside there was a slight breeze and the temps were in the mid 30s in the sun.  Inside the hoophouse, it was a balmy 70°F.  I did a bit of weeding, sharing some delicious chickweed with the hens, and sowed some cold hardy greens.

I raked in some compost, pulled some thriving, very cold hardy weeds, and generally tidied up a bit.  I finally managed to pull out the roots of some of the giant peppers I had in the hoophouse last fall.  The roots were so well developed I couldn’t pull them out earlier, I had to wait for some of the roots to decompose to make it easier.   Once that was done, I moved on to seeding.

Using my seeding jigs, I sowed Pac Choy, Tatsoi, Hon Tsai Tai, Mache, and more spinach.  I’m still new enough at this hoophouse thing that I can’t really guarantee these plants will succeed, but based on past years I’m sure something will come of today’s efforts.  Later this week I’ll add lettuce, which I’ve sowed this way successfully before.  I am also going to sow some cilantro.  I don’t know how well that will work, but I love it and figure it can’t hurt to try, right?

I need to get some floating row cover out from storage and cover that bed.  The entire right side of the hoophouse is now planted.  Lettuce and cilantro will go across the aisle.

8 Responses to “Winter gardening”

  1. Daphne Says:

    I hope they do well for you. I’m going to try seeding some Asian greens this week if I get the chance. It is supposed to be so nice the next few days. Not even below freezing at night.I want to take advantage of the warmer weather.

  2. Robin Says:

    It never hurts to try. Hopefully you’ll get some nice veggies out of your plantings!

  3. Spencer Says:

    So great. I look forward to seeing how it goes. I hope to put up a hoop house some day. I am always amazed how warm they get when it is so cold outside.

    • Ali Says:

      As S mentions below, it is really amazing how fast the temperature shoots up when the sun comes out. I love the scent of the damp soil and plants, mmmmm

  4. S Says:

    Looks great! I am totally loving puttering in the hoop this time of year. I finally got a remote thermometer and it’s amazing how fast the temps shoot up when the sun comes out, even just for a few minutes.

    Oh and cilantro is the only thing I am having luck with, so I’m sure yours will be fine, ha.

  5. Other greenhouse projects: some weblinks | The Winter Bounty Project Says:

    […] blog, we hopscotched to these two blog sites, with entries on greenhouses and/or winter harvest: Henbogle and Fast Grow the […]

Comments are closed.


