Occupy Henbogle

The Rain Forest Action Network organized a day of social media action today around food supply issues, calling it Occupy Your Food Supply.  Although I’m crazed with work this week, I still decided I wanted to participate in some way.  Thus, I decided to cook as nearly 100% local meal as possible and blog about it. So here we are at Occupy Henbogle headquarters with tonight’s dinner:  Spicy Shrimp and Grits.

The grits were made with stone ground Painted Mountain Corn grown just a few miles away at Fairwinds Farm.  It was seasoned with Maine sea salt and some of my Cowboy Candy, finely diced, and graced with some delicious Hunter’s Seriously Sharp Cabot Cheddar.  The local Maine wild-caught shrimp were made with sea salt, my garlic, local beer, local bacon from Ruit Farm North, and chile and pimenton from unknown lands.  Served with a fried eggs from you guessed it, my backyard.  If I’d planned better, I would have added spinach from my backyard, but opted instead to keep it local.

Knowing my readers, I’m preaching to the choir about the need to re-diversify our food supply, support local farms and farming, pay fair prices for locally produced foods, protect farmland and our environment, and keep our supplies of seed secure and safe.  But if you don’t know much about these issues, the link above to Occupy Your Food Supply is a great place to start, and your next stop should be your local farmer’s market or a nearby farm/csa program.

Oh, and dinner?  It didn’t photograph well, but man was it tasty!

11 Responses to “Occupy Henbogle”

  1. Daphne Says:

    Yum. I love shrimp. And you are preaching to the choir here. Though I may be one of the few in our circle that thinks a global food supply is as important as the local one.

  2. S Says:

    OH man that looks really delicious. See, this is the way to win people over to the ideas of local food! :)

  3. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I haven’t had any shrimp this year but you’ve inspired me to buy some from the gal up the road. Nothing beats Maine Shrimp. Well, maybe scallops or lobster.

  4. Laurie Graves Says:

    Looks good to me! Your photo made my mouth water.

  5. Robin Says:

    Looks great Ali! We just love shrimp but don’t buy it that often due to where did it come from??

    You are lucky to have good local shrimp available.

    I really wish I knew about the Occupy Your Food Supply…what a great idea!

  6. Robin Says:

    I hadn’t heard about Occupy Your Food Supply day. I wish we had now. We were at a newly open local brewery restaurant on that day so maybe I could squeak by on that. Your meal looked awesome. :)

  7. Norma Chang Says:

    You are so fortunate to have available locally caught wild shrimp and other local seafoods.

  8. A Good Eater » Blog Archive » MARCH 2, 2012: BITS AND BOBS FROM THE INTERNET Says:

    […] the blog Henbogle: In honor of Occupy Our Food Supply’s global day of action, Ali recently cooked a nearly 100 percent local meal, and how delicious it looks! (Wish I had known about that day of action.) Category: News, […]

  9. kitsapfg Says:

    Definitely the choir here – but preach away! You are setting a great example. It is not that hard to eat really well and still eat very locally. In fact, I love trying to eat the 100 foot diet as much as possible (from your backyard) and where that is not possible we try to stay in a 250 mile radius (our definition of local) from home. If that is not possible – we look for fair trade, shade grown, etc. The odd exotic item that we still end up buying once in a while is now a real treat item – not taken for granted as a result.

  10. Lexa Says:

    Wow – what a terrific looking meal you made! You are preaching to the choir but who cares. It needs to be said again and again until everyone is on board. What time is dinner served? Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.


