Harvest Monday: Hoop house spinach

With warm temps and sunshine, the hoophouse spinach is beginning to grow more quickly.  We invited Dan’s mom to join us for lunch and to give the new stove a workout. Dan picked about half a pound of spinach destined for pizza and salad.  I sautéed some spinach with garlic and olive oil, spread it on the dough and added feta cheese and thinly sliced red onions.  (It was pretty tasty even though I forgot to salt the spinach while cooking it, which makes a huge difference.)

Garden sourced toppings included my roasted tomato sauce, home-grown garlic, and pesto from my basil.  The final pizza was caramelized onion with blue cheese and walnuts.

The new range performed like a champ.  The convection feature makes a big difference.  The crust was tender tasty, and lightly charred on the bottom, the toppings cooked, the cheese browned.  It was so good, someone couldn’t wait to taste it!

The spinach in the salad was sweet and tender.  I am so happy to be eating from the garden again!

See what other gardeners are enjoying on Daphne’s fabulous urban gardening blog, Daphne’s Dandelions.

26 Responses to “Harvest Monday: Hoop house spinach”

  1. Liz - Suburban Tomato Says:

    Those pizza’s look really, really good. A new stove you say….hmmmmm…food for thought.

  2. Robin Says:

    Those pizzas sound heavenly! That was a really good spinach harvest for this time of the year!

  3. kitsapfg Says:

    I would not have been able to wait either. :D Gorgeous pizzas and even more tempting knowing they are chock full of your garden’s bounty and goodness.

    • Ali Says:

      Somehow, eating something we grow here is incredibly satisfying, every time. I suspect you feel the same. The experience adds to the flavor.

  4. Marmaduke Says:

    Harvest Monday in my RSS reader is a good sign spring is here!

  5. Norma Chang Says:

    What a treat, yep sure looking forward to eating from the garden again.

  6. tablespoonofflavors Says:

    i like this! :P

  7. maryhysongm Says:

    Your pizza looks heavenly! Love your hoop house; isn’t it amazing what a thin sheet of plastic can do?

  8. Rick Says:

    Spinach is so good this time of year! We cut some from the cold frame this week and added to a casserole and it was fantastic!

  9. SubUrban Garden Diary Says:

    It all looks so yummy!! I’ve never had a spinach pizza before but this makes me want to try one! Yum! Maybe when my spinach pops up, I’ll give it a try. Thanks.

    Lynn

  10. Lou Murray, Ph.D. Says:

    Oh, Ali, I have some serious range/oven envy. What a beauty. That spinach pizza with feta looks delicious. I’ll have to try it (although I would have to use chard.)

    • Ali Says:

      Lou, Chard is equally delicious. It is also delicious this way. Brush the crist with oil seasoned with garlic and red pepper flakes. Cook the chard with a bit more garlic. Stir in some ricotta cheese and spread on the pizza. Top with a little mozzarella or parm.

  11. Julie Says:

    Yum! Do you deliver those pizzas? ;) My spinach is taking off too and now I may be inspired to make pizza.

  12. Robin Says:

    That pizza looks sooooooo good. It looks like the new range passed with flying colors.

  13. S Says:

    Yum! Those look amazing. We are swimming in spinach too, it’s a good thing! Lately I’ve been so lazy I just chop it and throw it on the pizza raw (just over the sauce, and under the cheese. Works pretty good!

    I’m intrigued by the convection (what model oven did you get?). I don’t have a lot of experience with it but people really seem to like them.

  14. Ali Says:

    The range is a Capital Precision, 305 (30″ 5 burner) all gas with convection. Way out of my price range without purchasing the floor model. In some ways it is overkill, but it is nice to have the continuous grates, easy moving racks and well insulated oven.

    I’d used convection years ago in commercial ovens, and once it started appearing in home ovens knew I’d look for it. The fan heats more evenly and somehow makes things crisper on the outside without being dry.

Comments are closed.


