Gardening season begins — Welcome, Spring!

I’ve got grow lights and my homemade heat mat going, and Sunday, did a bit of yardwork.  Ahhh, it feels good to be working outside.

An early snowstorm put an end to fall garden cleanup, thus these unexpected warm days are welcome now for cleaning out the perennial beds.  I hope the warm dry weather continues long enough for us to get some mulch down on the beds soon.  It would be great to have this done to free us up for other chores later in the spring, like packing!

While I cooked on Sunday, Dan cleaned out the bed in front of the house.  I joined him at the very end, just in time to prune back the red and yellow twig dogwoods.  I hope now that the plants are established, this will bring on bright red and yellow new growth.

In the afternoon, we tackled the bed by the deck, and lastly, the Russian Sage bed by the driveway.  In the sunny backyard, the tulips and crocus are well up against the warmth of the house’s brick foundation.  We got the Russian Sage bed raked out just in time, as crocuses were coming up through the leaves.  Soon that dry brown patch will be filled with crocuses.

Next Saturday, we’ll be happy that we have a truck to fill and haul all the debris away to the town compost pile.

We still have lots more brown to rake out of the other garden beds.  This batch is full of road sand, so we will send it off and use the other rakings for our compost.  I wish we’d taken some before photos, because we both keep remarking about how much better everything looks!

This warm spell is forecast to continue through the weekend.  Thursday’s high is predicted to be in the mid 80s!  By the weekend the temps will moderate a bit, with clear skies and temps in the 50s on Saturday, which sounds perfect for more yeardwork.  Ahh, spring.  But I know you are fickle.  Well I remember the big snow of April 5, 2007.

4 Responses to “Gardening season begins — Welcome, Spring!”

  1. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I’m betting on snow for April Fools Day. More than once we’ve gotten a foot of heavy wet snow on April 1 or there about.

  2. Robin Says:

    Looks like you had a very productive weekend. I have a feeling that Mother Nature is going to hit us with something sooner or later!

  3. Lou Murray's Green World Says:

    There’s nothing like getting out in the yard at the first spring breeze, is there. I’m glad your pile of leaves will be composted, one place or another. I can hardly wait to see pics of your crocuses and tulips.

  4. Robin Says:

    I always forget to take before pics too. Have you finished up your travel plans then? With those sunny temps you are getting maybe I shouldn’t have packed winter clothes. I got my first sunburn already.

Comments are closed.


