Deliciousness

Who knew that Guinness had the power to transform the ordinary into the extraordinary?  For a chocolate party last weekend I made some amazing Milk Chocolate-Guinness Ice Cream, and last night, I made these cupcakes last night to take in to work for a friend’s birthday today.

A significant (ahem) birthday calls for a special cupcake, after all, thus Guinness Stout Cupcakes with Bailey’s Irish Cream Ganache and Frosting.

Wow.  The cake itself was tender and tasty despite being a wee bit overcooked (I’m still learning how my convection oven works).  The ganache filling was incredible, the frosting decadent and, thanks to the Bailey’s, sophisticated.  After the cakes cooled slightly, I used a melon baller to cut out a bit in the center of each cake, which I then filled with the warm ganache.  The decorating is not my strong suit, I’m too impatient for perfectly executed frosting swirls, but the dusting of baking cocoa hid a lot of sins.  It seems they were a hit as I came home with an empty container, and the one that plunged to the floor was devoured (3 second rule).

I (of COURSE) made some changes, and I’ll post my changes eventually, but I based my recipe on one I found on the blog Smitten Kitchen.  I highly reccomend it.  For total caloric and gluttonous overload, serve the cupcakes with the ice cream.

The first part of April is extraordinarily busy at work, but I hope we’ll be back to regular garden posts soon.  We have been eating spinach of late!

5 Responses to “Deliciousness”

  1. Laurie Graves Says:

    Wow!!!!! No need to say much more.

  2. S Says:

    Yum, looks fantastic!

  3. Norma Chang Says:

    I very much like the looks of the frosting on your cupcakes, see nothing that needs covered up.

  4. Michelle Says:

    I can only imagine how good those would be with Milk Choc. Guinness Ice Cream!

  5. Chickens Says:

    This recipe looks like a winner. I’m going to give it a try.

Comments are closed.


