The NYTimes on backyard Henkeepers

Julia Moskin of the NYTimes on the backyard henkeeping movement.

3 Responses to “The NYTimes on backyard Henkeepers”

  1. Lou Murray's Green World Says:

    Great article. I’m all for urban chickens, having three of them myself. Right now, we have a glut of eggs, so I’m freezing them for when the hens are molting, or when they stop laying over winter. I break two eggs at a time into a bowl, lightly scramble them, put them into a sandwich zip lock baggie and freeze them. I was out of eggs for two months last winter and GASP had to buy eggs at the store. And still the hens scarfed down their food. Layabouts! Or non-layabouts, depending on how you look at it.

  2. Lisa and Robb Says:

    My sister has had hens in Brooklyn for years. I finally got my very first chicks this spring. My coworkers think I’m insane, but they’ll miss out once we have eggs to share.

Comments are closed.


