Some lasts from the garden

Yesterday I pulled the last of the remaining leeks from the garden.  They were small but exceptionally sweet and tender.  I cleaned and sliced them, then cooked them slowly until nicely caramelized to go atop a pizza.  I also used the last of my frozen pesto on a potato pesto pizza, mmmm.

I ordered leek transplants from Johnny’s Selected Seeds.  They arrived Friday; I am hoping to

get them planted today.  I just love my leeks!

The last of the fall planted spinach will come out today.  I have some spring spinach ready to begin picking.  The slugs and snails have been feasting, though.  Time to get the Sluggo out.

7 Responses to “Some lasts from the garden”

  1. Daphne Says:

    Beautiful leeks. I’ve got to get my sluggo out too. The snails are taking over.

  2. attemptinggreen Says:

    I love leeks too.

  3. Karen Says:

    I’m so happy to have found your nice blog. I spend half the year in Maine where I grow tomatoes and herbs at our cottage by the lake. Love your greenhouse. It has to be so nice to extend the growing seasons.

  4. Michelle Says:

    Lovely, tastey leeks! The pizza was delicious – as usual!

  5. Lou Murray, Ph.D. Says:

    Terrific looking leeks. I usually put mine into leek and potato soup. What a great idea to carmelize them and put them on pizza.

  6. Spencer Says:

    Its so great to be getting fresh food this time of year! Well done. I will get my season extension self together one of these days.

  7. Go here Says:

    Go here…

    […]Some lasts from the garden « Henbogle[…]…

Comments are closed.


