My new trowel

A friend from my Master Gardener class heard me whining about critiquing my broken Oxo trowel.  My friend, an accomplished gardener, works at Fedco, and brought me a trowel from Fedco to try, which is apparently a staff favorite.  It is a Wilcox All-Pro 202 14-inch digging trowel, made 16 gauge stainless steel and with a nicely sharpened edge.  Yowza, I’d better keep a close eye on my toes!

It just so happens to look very similar to the trowel Daphne suggested, and is the same brand as the trowel Dave uses and suggested.  It is one sturdy looking tool.  It is all one piece of metal, shaped and sharpened, with a heavy plastic handle and handy hanging loop.  Even better, it is made in Iowa, where I suspect they know something about gardening.  I am looking forward to giving this baby a workout.  Don’t sneak up on me while I’m gardening.  Thanks, Ellen!

9 Responses to “My new trowel”

  1. Daphne Says:

    Yup it is the same trowel I have. I have the 10″ version too. The 14″ one is just HUGE. I like the 10″ one for weeding since it is much narrower. And yes be careful. You could lose a finger to that if you aren’t careful. It does seem like it will last forever though. I’m hoping. I think the orange plastic will give way long before the metal part will.

  2. Dave Says:

    Like Daphne I do have the smaller model as well. My oldest one (I have a collection of them) is getting a little wear on the handle, but the metal is still going strong. Happy troweling!

  3. Dan of Henbogle Says:

    Before long CarTalk’s Click and Clack will be asking listeners to send their answers to the Puzzler on the back of one of these! Then again… I don’t think they’re of the gardening persuasion. Then again, maybe Doug “The Old Gray Mare” Berman is a gardener.

    I wonder… who would be the show’s gardener? Til (short for Tilly) D. Soil?

    Dan of Henbogle

  4. Gail Fines Says:

    Looks very intriguing. I need a new trowel as mine keeps bending so I’ll be hunting one up. Internet shopping here I come!

  5. Laurie Graves Says:

    Snazzy! I want one, but the warnings about chopped fingers sound a little alarming. Be careful, Ali!

  6. Julie Says:

    Ali, that is one fierce looking tool, dangerous in fact! LOL Are you and Dan still planning on a road trip this summer? I know we need the rain, but I’m hoping the sun makes an appearance tomorrow.

  7. S Says:

    Okay, after planting a bunch of onions and leeks with my regular trowel, this one is looking more and more appealing. Maybe my next tool investment!

  8. kitsapfg Says:

    Now that is a nice looking hand tool. I may have to ask for one of those for my birthday this year. :D

  9. Robin Says:

    Nice!!! That is all I have to say. :)

Comments are closed.


