Cold wet weather rolls in

With rain in the forecast, and road trip departure day just 13 days away, I had to plant my tomatoes, but they are not going to like it. And looking this morning, the forecast has worsened.

Between now and Monday morning, 4-6 3/4 inches of rain are possible, with showers in the extended forecast through Wednesday.  Sigh.

10 Responses to “Cold wet weather rolls in”

  1. ravenmistfarm Says:

    Same weird weather here. Right after we set our tomatoes and peppers out–we had temps in the 90’s–this week we are back down to the 60’s!

  2. Robin Says:

    I planted my tomatoes and peppers in the cool rainy weather before we went on vacation. I did loose two that weren’t all that big. The rest of them are thriving.

  3. Daphne Says:

    I know how you feel. I planted my sweet potatoes and then looked at the forecast. Now the forecast is even worse with three days in the 50s projected. Brrrr.

  4. Lou Murray's Green World Says:

    Global weirding! Weather is going to become more and more unpredictable, less like what we expect. I worry about our global food supplies. This is one reason why I garden. It’s a hedge against major losses elsewhere. And when supplies go down because of weather disasters, prices go up. But I hope your tomatoes are OK. They can survive temps in the 50s and 60s.

  5. Lou Murray's Green World Says:

    Forgot my blog link.

  6. kitsapfg Says:

    That really looks like a wet future in store for your area. Our forecast for the coming week is also wet and cooler (not that we were all that warm to begin with mind you!). Nothing like the 100% and “heavy” rains in your forecast though. Can you give the tomatoes a protective cover to keep them from being swamped?

  7. Robin Follette Says:

    This feels a lot like the beginning of the cold, wet, blight-ridden summer of 2010. I haven’t planted any warm transplants or seeds yet. I hope this clears up soon.

    • Ali Says:

      I know, it does. I just saw three days of sun icons on the NOAA forecast page, here’s hoping they’ve called it right.

  8. Laurie Graves Says:

    June in Maine is often very wet, but this last spell was especially ugly with its floods and driving rain. Onward!

  9. leslie Says:

    We got @ 3.5 inches in Cushing – the day after all the tomatoes went in. Peppers still in their pots, but outside. In a semi-protected area but I know in my also-chilly bones that they’re not happy. Bill pointed out that this is A-1 perfect blight weather, so I put up a super-short organic avoid-the-blight post. There’s a link at the end for those who want to go into it more deeply. May we ALL escape!
    http://leslieland.com/2012/06/tomato-and-potato-blight-alert-with-management-tips

Comments are closed.


