Awakening

IMG_2250A new round of seed catalogs has arrived, awakening this gardener from her slumber.  Just 107 days remain before the first day of Spring arrives and the garden season shifts into high gear!

Before then, I have to finish two big projects and a few smaller ones.  The two big projects:  the hoophouse and the bathroom.  The plastic on the hoophouse has degraded over the pvc pipes, and sometime while we were away, it tore.  I need to determine how I’m going to address this problem.  Do I repair, renovate, or rebuild?

Project number 2 is renovating our bathroom.  We’ve been at it hammer and tongs since October, and are about half-finished.  With luck we’ll be done by the time I need to order seeds and the garden season really begins.

10 Responses to “Awakening”

  1. leslie Says:

    Gee, how did you find time to slumber? I feel like I haven’t even started to kick back (although I too am getting inundated with catalogs).

    About that plastic – how long was it on? My own experience with rotting plastic was more than 20 years ago, but at that time I outsmarted myself by edging the cut plywood ends of the greenhouse with garden hose split down the middle. I thought this would protect the plastic from being torn by the sharp wood. What happened was the two plastics interacted and the greenhouse cover lost.

    The kit company was very nice about it and sent me a new cover, even though it wasn’t their fault, but

    blah blah, probably not the case with you anyway. For what it’s worth, the second cover was supposed to last for 3-5 years, but in fact it lasted for 15, tearing more and more often, more and more often being repaired with simple strapping tape.

    • Ali Says:

      Leslie, I think the pvc conduit is causing the same problem you experienced. I am glad to know the second cover lasted. If I replace mine, I’ll try painting the hoops to prevent the reaction.

  2. Robin Says:

    I received two of the good seed catalogs this week!! Yippee!! They are so much fun to browse through.

    Good luck with the bathroom. I’ve been putting our bathroom renovation off for 7 years now! I just don’t want to deal with it!

    • Ali Says:

      Robin, if you can avoid it, do so. But with your skills you’ll probably find it a slight bit less challenging than we have. I guess it is good for building new neural pathways and keeping the aging brain active.

  3. Lou Murray's Green World Says:

    My Seeds of Change catalog has arrived. I am lusting after a seed starting kit with hot pad so I can start my own tomatoes this year. I will also check Gardeners Supply. They seem to send me a new catalog every month. All this is while we renovate our guest room. Right now, Im tired of cleaning and reorganizing. Time for a glass of wine!

  4. nruit Says:

    We got a few catalogs, but have not begun to plan yet! Hope the bathroom project goes well.

  5. nysugarcamp Says:

    welcome back!! Mom

Comments are closed.


