Lighting upgrade

IMG_2260

Before

I’d never really given these old light fixtures much thought beyond “geez, are these ugly or what?”  Once we started on the project, I was going to replace them, but in looking around at fixtures, I find they are very expensive, expensive but feel cheap, or cheap, and look not-quite safe.  I looked at vintage fixtures on eBay, and YIKES! decided they weren’t for me.  Then, seeing all the lovely shades available on eBay, I thought, why not just paint ours and buy new shades?

During

IMG_2265

And so that’s just what we did.  Shades, $3.97 each at Big Orange Box, and one can of Rustoleum, $4 and change at local hardware store.  Over the weekend, we took the fixtures down, I scuffed them up with some sandpaper, and we gave them several light coats of paint, beginning with primer.  Dan brilliantly pioneered the use of a cardboard box as a spray booth, which worked great.  We took them outside to paint, then brought them into the laundry room to dry.

After

IMG_2290

It took a few coats of paint, and I still need to paint the screws securing the shades, but we have lovely new lights, and for about $50 less than the cost of one new light fixture.

I still hate the medicine cabinet, but at least it will match the room better than it did before.IMG_2293

5 Responses to “Lighting upgrade”

  1. Lou Murray's Green World Says:

    Wow, great job of using Yankee ingenuity and thriftiness. They look great! I hope you put in compact fluorescent bulbs. We switched out almost all of our incandescent ones for CFLs, and our electric bill is now normally under $50 a month.

  2. Chris Kafer Says:

    We did the same thing with our old porch fan. One spray can of Rustoleum hammered metal paint and new blades made it look fresh and brand new!

  3. zynischer Says:

    Nice.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Your new bathroom is the bomb.

  5. Robin Says:

    Brilliant idea! :)

Comments are closed.


