And there were 10

This year, happily, Imbolc falls on February 3 which also happens to be my birthday.  Happy birthday to me — I couldn’t ask for a better present.  Imbolc marks the midpoint between the winter solstice and the vernal equinox, and here in Maine, we  will now enjoy 10 hours of daylight, and more, daily.  Today’s sunrise was at 6:54, and sunset at 4:52, and we’ll gain about 2 minutes a day through the Solstice.

Picture 31

I found this interesting graph on the University of Nebraska Lincoln website.   I’ve been thinking off an on about making a chart demonstrating the day length, but Google spared me the effort of wrapping my brain around that exercise!

The increasing daylight is welcome any winter, but especially after Dan Man and I suffered through the Flu last week.  (I strongly urge you to avoid this if at all possible, it was NOT PLEASANT.)  We don’t have anything planted in the hoophouse, but soon (should have already done it!) I’ll start some leeks, and in the next couple of weeks I’ll venture out to the hoophouse to see if it is possible to do some bed preparation — and if yes, maybe I’ll be able to sprinkle a few lettuce and spinach seeds about.  Spring is on the way.

14 Responses to “And there were 10”

  1. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    People who haven’t experienced the lack of daylight common to Downeast ME can’t really appreciate what you are blogging about. I am presently in upstate NY and it is light a good hour later than Bar Harbor where I live.

  2. nruit Says:

    We become obsessed with how much light we are gaining each day. It’s definitely a farmer/gardener sport!

  3. Annie's Granny Says:

    Happy birthday, Ali!

  4. Lou Murray's Green World Says:

    happy Birthday, Ali! Sorry you and hubby had the flu.,there is a wicked Norovirus gut flu going around that lasts five days instead of the usual 24 hours.

  5. Laurie Graves Says:

    Happy birthday, Ali! So sorry you and Dan had that dratted flu. When you’re feeling completely better, let’s make plans to meet for lunch in February. (Somehow, January just slipped by.)

    • Ali Says:

      Ooooh! Yes, lunch! I was going to suggest Friday, but perhaps not. Maybe next week. I’ll send you an e-mail.

  6. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    I forgot, Happy Birthday, now a day late. Hope you’re feeling better.

  7. Anonymous Says:

    Happy Belated! May all your wishes come true….. I’m one of those people that believe Maine is in the wrong time zone. We should be on Atlantic time. But daylight hours are daylight hours regardless of what time it is!

Comments are closed.


