Hoophouse gardening

IMG_2799March is being fickle here at Henbogle.  The big snows of February are mostly gone, and there are tulips peeking above ground near the foundation of the house on the sunny and IMG_2800protected southwestern side.  It’s good sap running weather, with cold nights and clear sunny days, but Sunday was windy and chilly from the wind, and (sob) there is 3-7 inches of snow in the forecast for Tuesday.   What’s a gardener to do?  Head for the hoophouse, of course!

Even with large holes in the plastic cover, the hoophouse was pleasantly warm, and the soil inside unfrozen and workable.  It needed some a lot of weeding and the large culinary sage in there needed cutting way, way back.  I didn’t think to take before pictures, but at the end of an hour or so, it looked much better, and more IMG_2804importantly, is ready for seeding with some cold-hardy plants.  Next weekend I’ll plant IMG_2806_2some brassicas, lettuce, spinach and other greens, and maybe even a few carrots and see what happens.  With luck, we’ll be eating home-grown salad by May 1.

2 Responses to “Hoophouse gardening”

  1. Daphne Says:

    I was going to plant peas on St Patrick’s Day, but I looked at the forecast. Snow on both Tuesday and Thursday. Really cold too. I figured I’d better wait. I guess last year was early so this year gets to have a late spring.

  2. S Says:

    I have a rosemary needing the same thing, but I keep granting it a reprieve. My first tiny sprouts are up and I keep meaning to do a second planting but our forecast is really cold this week so am waiting a few more days. I had to reinstall my auto-vent this weekend so I can totally see how your extra “ventilation” wouldn’t be much of a problem this time of year. We’re hitting 100 degrees inside :)

Comments are closed.


