Sunning the starts

IMG_2924Earlier this spring, we found this new deck table at a used furniture store.  Our large wooden table rotted after 10 years of use, so the timing was perfect.  One of the nice features of the wire mesh is the protection it provides for sunning my seedlings.

With the forecast calling for partial sunshine and mild temps, I lugged the seedlings outside this morning to start the hardening off process.  Sliding them under this mesh table reduces the sun IMG_2925exposure quite a bit, so between the partial sunshine and the mesh they had a nice introduction to the sun.  Tomorrow the forecast is calling for sunny skies, so again I will lug the seedlings out for a day under the table.  By Saturday they should be ready to move to the table top for the day.

The larger seedlings on the right are Romanesco Cauliflower from a gardening pal.  We had arranged to swap Romanesco Cauliflower for Cheddar Cauliflower.  I thought he meant seeds, but he meant seedlings.  Oops.  Fortunately,at only 58 days, the Cheddar Cauliflower makes a great fall crop.

With a low of 35°F forecast for tonight, I’ve pulled the plants inside for the night, but it looks like they enjoyed their day in the sun.  I wish I could have joined them.

5 Responses to “Sunning the starts”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Nice find! It looks like our table. But you have comfier chairs!

  2. Daphne Says:

    My poor seedlings. I’ll often put them outside and just forget about them. I do put them in a place that gets afternoon shade for the first couple of days. So at least they don’t get too sunburnt.

  3. Laurie Graves Says:

    Great idea and wicked frugal!

  4. buttingheadsfarm Says:

    Will be putting my tomatoes out this weekend. I think my table is tall enough….planted them a wee bit early.

  5. Robin Says:

    I thought it was too cold in Maine for wood to rot. :D

Comments are closed.


