Too many tomatoes

IMG_2926It was a gorgeous day in Maine today.  We started the day with a bike ride to a local restaurant to have breakfast with friends.  It was a little cool, but the ride was fun, although unfortunately it was uphill on the way home –or maybe that was a good thing?

Once home, I got to work transplanting tomato seedlings.  I decided to use some old tomato seeds rather than order new, so I planted several seeds in each pot in case of poor germination.  Germination was good, and I just hate thinning them, so I decided to transplant them all into individual pots and give them away or trade them.  I now have 41 tomatoes after giving 4 away earlier in the day.  I did the same with my peppers, although fortunately I don’t have as many peppers.

I planted 9 varieties of tomato, a mix of slicing and paste tomatoes, and one cherry tomato, my old standby Sungold.  I also purchased some Jet Star tomatoes after hearing rave reviews from one of the Extension staffers.

Martha Washington (slicer)
Rose (slicer)
Cherokee Purple (slicer)
Jet Star (slicer)
Orange Banana (paste)
Pompeii (paste)
Sungold (cherry)
German Johnson (slicer)
Pineapple (heirloom slicer)
Speckled Roman (paste)

For peppers I planted Ancho (Tiburon), Anaheim (Joe E. Parker), Sweet Italian Frying (Carmen), and Early Jalapeno.

I also started some more lettuce, and some zinnias and bachelor buttons.  For the smaller plants I’ve been using un-coated paper Dixie cups, which I find very convenient, but I may give my soil blocker another try this spring with more flowers.  Labeling is always a problem for me with the soil blocker, but it won’t matter so much with flowers.

It was a gorgeous day to be outside in Maine.  The worst of the busy spring semester is behind me now, so with luck I’ll be able to enjoy the spring a bit more now, and in 7 weeks I’ll be off finishing up at work for the summer, whoo hoo!

7 Responses to “Too many tomatoes”

  1. GrafixMuse Says:

    I am sure you will be able to give away your extra tomatoes between now and planting time. I too began potting up my tomatoes. I need more potting soil to pot up the rest. I start them in soil blocks, then pot them up into solo cups once they form their true leaves.

    It was such a great weekend to get outside.

  2. Chris Kafer Says:

    There is no such thing as too many tomatoes! :)

  3. Laurie Graves Says:

    You have quite the hills in your town, that’s for sure! Hoo-boy! What a challenge.

  4. S Says:

    I do the same thing, it’s never hard to get rid of tomato plants, sometimes you can swap for something good too :)

  5. Daphne Says:

    That is a lot of tomato plants. I’m pretty ruthless with my seedlings. I always chop off the extras. If I didn’t I’d be having to turn on more lights.

  6. O. Says:

    I’ve never seen a German Johnson. Are they bigger than the other Johnsons?

Comments are closed.


