I need a gardening pep talk

Some good weather over the weekend would be nice, too.

Henbogle garden is in a sad state.  End of year busyness, and bad gardening weather is keeping me out of the garden at the time it (and I) most need to be in the garden.  Weeds are taking luxuriant advantage of the 4 inches of rain we got over Memorial Day weekend, especially after the 3 days of 90+ degree weather we had this past weekend.

My tomatoes are doing ok under the row cover and plastic mulch, but I haven’t been able to plant my peppers or potatoes, let alone prep the beds for direct seeding of pole beans, squash and cukes, more lettuce, etc.  The shallots are looking good but in need of daily intensive weeding for a bit and then a thick layer of mulch.  The cool crops in the hoophouse hated the hot spell and most have bolted.  At least the hens enjoy the sharp flavor of the arugula.

A lot more rain is in the forecast for the weekend and I am despairing about getting the rest of the beds weeded and ready.  I am beginning to think I should have planted a thick cover crop last year while we were away and then the garden would have been in better shape this spring.

6 Responses to “I need a gardening pep talk”

  1. GrafixMuse Says:

    I don’t have my garden in yet either. Last weekend was too hot and the weekend before was too cold. In the mean time, the weeds have invaded the garden beds. I began weeding and prepping a few beds today. I hope to get it done a little at a time.

  2. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    The only way I’ve accomplished what I have was I got into the garden before 7 Sat and Sun AM and worked until it got too hot. I still have seeds to plant and my usual tomato bed isn’t even tilled. I think most Maine gardeners are in the same boat this year. I finally got the first mowing done using a headlamp. For what it is worth, there is a garden down the road from me that is always planted very late but it always seems to catch up with us normally early planters. Just keep plugging away and it will be fine.

  3. Daphne Says:

    Sometimes if I think of all the things that need doing, then nothing gets done. Just pick the chore to do that is the most important to you. Do it. Don’t think of the rest that needs doing.

    If you aren’t sure you will get the weeding done on the beds that aren’t planted up yet, cover them in black plastic right now (provided they are warm weather crops you are going to plant, otherwise cardboard). At least they won’t go to seed and make the problem worse. And the plastic will keep the beds from being too wet when you want to work them. If it is just drizzling then you can work the beds in the drizzle. If it takes a couple weeks to get to the beds, then the weeds might even be dead by then.

    • Ali Says:

      Daphne, you are a genius. I’ll cover the beds with plastic tomorrow before my dentist appointment!

    • GrafixMuse Says:

      I just want to “like” Daphne’s comment. Very good advice. I also try to focus on one bed or one crop at a time. Eventually the garden will be planted.

  4. Stoney Acres Says:

    Ali, I feel your pain. We are in the same boat this year with our garden. We just moved into this house and got a late start and I feel like we will be lucky if we just get one tomato!!

Comments are closed.


