Heading up

IMG_3159I’m making good progress in the garden now that my days in the office have ended for the summer (yay!).  Almost all my transplants are set out, just a few purchased Brussels sprouts I purchased yesterday remain.  Over the past few days and with Dan’s help, I managed to plant the remaining lettuce, some bok choi, potatoes, more broccoli and IMG_3166cauliflower, and sow some cucumbers and squash seeds in the vegetable garden.  This morning, I sowed more lettuce, and some cilantro and dill, and then I peeked under the brassica row cover.  The broccoli and cauliflower I set out in April is heading up — there will probably be broccoli for dinner some night soon.  I also IMG_3170set out all my flower seedlings, a mix of zinnias, black-eyed Susans, bachelor buttons, and salvia.  I also sowed some sunflower seeds in both the flower bed and the vegetable garden.

In the midst of all this, we’ve been weeding and fluffing the perennial beds, and starting a big refresh of the house.  We have a fabulous contractor repairing and patching sheetrock and replacing the textured ceiling in the living room.  Once he is done, we’ll be doing some painting.

We have one other little problem to solve, too.  I need a groundhog sniper.

IMG_3133

 

5 Responses to “Heading up”

  1. Laurie Graves Says:

    Little critter! Now that you are done work for the summer, perhaps I can entice you to come to Winthrop for lunch sometime in the next two weeks?

  2. S Says:

    Wow, great progress, I love how when you finally have some open time you can really plow through a lot of stuff, it’s very satisfying. And more house projects, you guys are on a roll! Arg on the woodchuck, it seems to be a high rodent year everywhere…

  3. Stoney Acres Says:

    Your garden is looking great. It’s always fun to remodel parts of your house. We just finished (well not quite) remodeling the home that we just bought. Lots of work, but is sure is satisfying to look around at our beautiful home and think “hey we did this all ourselves”!!

  4. Jennifer Fisk Says:

    Borrow a .22 from a neighbor and pop it. If you’re nice it will eat your hard work.

  5. Jean Says:

    OMG, that is one bold woodchuck! The one that was driving me crazy has disappeared, presumably “dispatched” (my favorite local euphemism) by one of my neighbors.

Comments are closed.


