I want to run away with Carmen

Look at these magnificent Carmen sweet Italian peppers.  They are wonderful.  I know we could have a happy life together, if only I did not feel compelled to devour them.  Yum.  Rob Johnston and his partner Janika Eckert at Johnny’s Selected Seeds developed Carmen .  As far as I’m concerned, they deserve some sort of prize, maybe a Nobel, for this achievement.  Delicious, red ripe sweet peppers in Maine in August!

5 Responses to “I want to run away with Carmen”

  1. Daphne Says:

    Hmm maybe I’ll have to try them. I usually have so much trouble with large sweet peppers. And I like the ripe ones. This year with the heat they did fine, but usually I never get but tiny little things. It is why I tend to stick to chili peppers that grow well.

    • Ali Says:

      We actually did not get the intense high temps seen in Southern New England, so I thing they would work for you Daphne. They are delicious! I think those in the photo will become roasted red pepper spread.

  2. Sara Says:

    Ooh those are lovely! I grow marconis that are long like that, very flavorful but green. I did try Fedco’s Peacework sweet bell pepper this year, and see a couple getting red this week. They seem great overall, nice sized fruit and quite prolific.

    • Ali Says:

      I’ve grown marconi peppers before, and these are similar but ripen much earlier. I may have to try Peacework next year for regular green peppers.

  3. villager Says:

    I’ve had good luck growing Carmen in pots, as well as in the ground. I grilled a couple last night for dinner – yummy!

Comments are closed.